Skip to content

2011 football season preview with College Football Zealots

May 14, 2011

College Football Zealots — I site that I’d never heard of, but seems to be legit — recently asked me a few questions for their 2011 preview of EMU. This reminded me that it’s probably about time to start thinking about the upcoming football season. So consider this the official start of 2011 pre-season football coverage.

Take a look, and then come back here and let me know if I missed any key points!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Kenneth Barna permalink
    May 14, 2011 8:06 pm

    I would agree with most of the commentary about Eastern, especially after watching the spring scrimmage. I wonder if any of the incoming freshman will make an impact immediately, especially some of the running backs and tight ends.
    We do need to be competitive in the MAC this year. I think they will be.

    • May 14, 2011 8:13 pm

      By and large, I don’t want to see freshmen making an immediate impact, because in football, nine times out of ten that’s more indicative of a weak team than of a strong recruiting class.

  2. May 17, 2011 5:02 pm

    A perfect example of that is the team at the other end of Washtenaw. Their defense last year was mostly freshman and sophomores and it was pretty close to dead last. Heck, it might have surpassed EMU’s. And I’m with you about freshmen. A normal team has a decent number of seniors and juniors that should be able to play at an acceptable level. If nothing else, EMU pretty much only has up to go…so we’ll see.

Leave a Reply

