Skip to content

Mike Hart coaching rumors confirmed

August 17, 2011
Mike Hart

Mike Hart, on the Michigan sideline in 2007

Speaking of our neighbors to the west, the Detroit Free Press reported this morning that all-time Michigan rushing leader Mike Hart is an assistant coach at EMU. I’d heard some rumors about this, but seen no official announcement, and EMU still doesn’t list him on their website.

I love it, and I have a lot more fun coaching in camp than playing in camp. Camp is camp. It’s a grind for the coaches, it’s a grind on the players, but my body isn’t taking a beating. I just love working with young men and having an impact on them. I’m definitely having a lot of fun. I’m definitely moving on to the next chapter of my life. Everyone stops playing. I’m done. I know what I want to do. I know where I want to be in the next 10-15 years. I’m happy now. I’m committed to Eastern, I’m committed to helping them, I’m committed to coach E.

Hart says that coaching has always been his dream, and the article has many of the expected comments about the long hours, quotes from Ron English about what a hard worker Hart is, and of course, how strange it will be for Hart to be in the visitors’ locker room at Michigan Stadium.

As a rookie coach, of course, no one really knows if Hart will be able to help other players have the kind of success he had, but I certainly can’t imagine any part of this will be a bad thing for EMU.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Kenneth Barna permalink
    August 18, 2011 6:07 pm

    Dear cmadler,
    I have to disagree with you on this one. Mike Hart was a very good football player, but I have little respect for the man because of his mouth. I know that many times people only dwell on bad things about a person, but Mike Hart showed an arrogance, and condescending attitude more than once, and those are qualities I cannot stand. Maybe he has matured about these things, only time will tell.

    • August 18, 2011 6:15 pm

      That’s a good point about his arrogance and his mouth: his 2007 “little brother” comment comes immediately to mind. As you said, hopefully he’s matured in the four years since.

Leave a Reply

