Skip to content

MAC pick ’em, week 5

September 29, 2011

Last week I went 6-6, bringing me to 35-12 for the season, though I’m requesting that the Toledo-Syracuse game be vacated from my record. Let’s watch that video one more time:

In a major early-season East-West MAC showdown, Toledo will play at Temple. I keep thinking the Rockets are going to start living up to the pre-season expectations, but they (and the refs) continue to disappoint. Fine. I’m done paddling against the current on this. I’m still not sold on Temple, but they’ve found ways to win games, and Toledo hasn’t; in the end, that’s what matters.

Central Michigan will host Northern Illinois, and this game should help the Huskies get things back on track after a disappointing non-conference schedule. Central Michigan has been struggling on both sides of the ball, and is probably still a month away from their first win; they’ll play Kent State and Akron on back-to-back Saturdays in late October/early November.

Kent State found an offense last Saturday, nearly tripling their season scoring total against South Alabama. But there’s a world of difference between Ohio and South Alabama, and the Bobcats will come in ready to play after Rutgers beat them last week to spoil what some people thought might be a perfect season. Score prediction: Ohio, a lot; Kent State, not so much.

EMU will, of course, host Akron. We’ll have the full game preview tomorrow, so for now, I’ll just say that I think the Eagles will win this one, and leave it at that.

Most of the non-conference games look like bad mismatches. Buffalo at Tennessee, Cincinnati at Miami, and Ball State at Oklahoma all look like sure MAC losses. Western Michigan has a chance to atone for last week’s close loss to Illinois with a winnable game at Connecticut. Losses to Vanderbilt and Iowa State have demonstrated that the Huskies are weak, and I think the Broncos will come through with the win. Bowling Green at West Virginia has all the makings of a shoot-out. Each team is averaging more than 35 points per game, while neither defense has looked particularly impressive. I think West Virginia has a slight edge in this game and I’d expect the Mountaineers to win, but I wouldn’t be too surprised to see it go the other way.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Kenneth Barna permalink
    September 29, 2011 2:59 pm

    Dear cmadler,
    I think Temple has risen to the top. They had a good chance to beat Pennsylvania State, and dominated Maryland, the last two weeks. After that, I agree with your calls, and certainly hope, that Eastern comes out with a win on Saturday.

  2. September 29, 2011 10:38 pm

    I’ll go with EMU.

Leave a Reply

