Skip to content

2011 MAC pick ’em, week 12

November 15, 2011

Last week I went 5-1, bringing me to 66-26 for the season, with an asterisk on one miss (Toledo-Syracuse). My one miss last week was that I picked Miami over Temple; in the end the RedHawks came up 3 points short.

Ball State at Northern Illinois: I don’t think Ball State has the defense to slow down the Huskies. Northern Illinois has almost no defense, but I think the Huskies will win in a shootout.

Ohio at Bowling Green: Bowling Green will be playing to retain a hope of bowl-eligibility. Ohio will be playing to retain the lead in the MAC East. I keep saying that I don’t trust Frank Solich’s team late in the season, but I’ve got to take the better team, and the Bobcats are clearly the better team here.

Western Michigan at Miami: When in doubt on an East-West game, always take the MAC West Division team.

Toledo at Central Michigan: Toledo is averaging more than 58 points per game for their last three games (I’d call it basketball-on-gridiron, but I’m not sure the Toledo men’s basketball team will consistently score that many points). Central Michigan hasn’t scored 58 points since October 2007. I think that the Chippewas will manage to score what’s normally a respectable amount, but Toledo will continue to score an obscene amount.

Akron at Buffalo: Every week I think to myself, “This is the week Akron is finally going to get it together and win a game.” Every weekend I’m wrong. I’m prepared to be wrong again this week, but I think the Zips will bounce back from two consecutive 35-3 losses and find a way to beat the Bulls.

EMU at Kent State: See above comment about East-West games; full preview later this week.

Army at Temple: Army has already lost to Northern Illinois, Ball State, and Miami, by an average of 19 points each. I’ve got to think the Owls can win this by at least 25 points, and more if they want to.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

