Skip to content

Double Senior Day doubleheader slideshow

February 24, 2012

To get ready for tomorrow’s epic double Senior Day doubleheader against Ball State and…Ball State… here’s a suitably epic slideshow for the six EMU seniors who will be making their last regular season start in the Convo: Quintin Dailey, Antonio Green, Kamil Janton, Darrell Lampley, Paige Redditt, and Tavelyn James.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Mark H. permalink
    February 24, 2012 1:39 pm

    Congratulations to these seniors, for many games well played.

    Great photos, too. Interesting that the ones showing the arena, largely show empty seats. Never a sold out game, and rarely even close.

    • February 24, 2012 2:10 pm

      Never a sold out game, and never even close, true. But I will say that the photos often make it look even emptier than it is. Ken tends to take pictures from an end (because that’s where there’s room for photographers, and because under and around each basket is where most of the action takes place), so you usually see the other end in the background. The south end sometimes gets some people in it because that’s where the pep band and the formal student section are, but the north end tends to be pretty empty — most people would rather watch a basketball game from along a sideline than from the end, so the ends fill up last. If you look at Ken’s pictures from, say, the Toledo game this week, you might guess that the place was empty, while if you watched the webcast of the game (which mostly showed crowd shots from the west side, behind the team benches) you might think there was a pretty good crowd (of Toledo fans).

  2. February 24, 2012 3:27 pm

    Also, when I’m taking pictures, I’m under the basket that Eastern is shooting at. I’m also usually angled so that I’m taking pictures of the corners and there is rarely people in the corners. As a fan, I hate it but as a photographer I don’t mind because there are less distractions in the picture.

    And thanks for the compliment but I feel like my basketball pics need alot more work….

  3. Kenneth Barna permalink
    February 24, 2012 3:33 pm

    Dear cmadler,
    Would like to have seen more photos of the women who are seniors. I know it may be difficult to get photos of them, but they were short changed with this photo exhibit.

    • February 24, 2012 4:30 pm

      Blame the photographer for that one, he only went to two of their games this year. He will try to make up for that next year.

    • February 24, 2012 4:38 pm

      In my ideal world, men’s and women’s basketball would get roughly equal coverage, and while it’s not as good as I like, I think the written coverage has been reasonably close to balanced, and certainly a lot more equal than you’ll find most places. (As far as I know, Hustle Belt is the only other blog that even tries to cover MAC women’s basketball.)

      I do not like to copy photos from other websites, so, with very limited exceptions (usually obvious, such as know-your-foe coverage of other schools, where I often use photos from Wikipedia), the photos you see on this blog were taken either by me or by Ken. Although I took a few basketball photos early in the season, I found that 1) I had a hard time paying attention to the flow of the game while trying to take pictures and 2) the amount of effort I was spending was grossly out of proportion to the quantity and quality of photos I was getting (take a look at my photos from the first exhibition game: https://easterneagles.wordpress.com/2011/10/30/emu-81-earlham-55-exhibition/ ). So that leaves me with just Ken’s photos, and he only made it to two or three women’s games.

      Look back and you’ll find that this was a huge improvement over my 2010-11 basketball photos (of which I think there were two or three camera-phone shots I took at the WNIT game against Michigan). Like most of this blog, there’s plenty of room for improvement, but I think we’re headed in the right direction. As an aside, there are an awful lot of home basketball games (24 this year, probably more in most years), more than I think Ken wants to or even can photograph. If you know of someone who’d be interested in alternating for basketball season, “subbing” for certain games, or otherwise supplementing Ken’s basketball photos next year, let me know.

  4. Mark H. permalink
    February 25, 2012 1:25 pm

    All the photos on this cite strike me as superb, and this cite also, by far, as the most reliable, detailed, and consistent coverage of EMU games – football and basketball – that I have ever seen, from any source, in 18 years of observing. So kudos to cmadler and Ken!

Leave a Reply

