Skip to content

Spring 2012 football depth chart

April 2, 2012

EMU's quarterbacks: #14 Iannotti, #8 Gillett, #12 Benz

As expected, with minimal losses on offense, the starting lineup carries forward from last year. The offensive line of Korey Neal, Corey Watman, Andrew Sorgatz, Campbell Allison, and Lincoln Hansen should be among the best in the MAC, with Scott MacLeod, Bobby McFadden, and Orlando McCord the likely top subs. (McCord, who was listed as a tight end last year but occasionally came up on the o-line depth chart, now seems to be moved to o-line for good.) All the starting receivers are familiar names from last year, and of course, EMU will have a three-headed monster at running back, with Dominique Sherrer (listed as the starter for now), Javonti Greene, and Dominique White likely to share the load. Tyler Benz is probably Alex Gillett’s primary backup at quarterback, but Mark Iannotti has also looked good in practice, and may challenge for the starting spot in 2013.

X receiver Left tackle Left guard Center Right guard Right tackle Tight end
Julius Shelby Korey Neal Corey Watman Andrew Sorgatz Campbell Allison Lincoln Hansen Garrett Hoskins Z receiver
Donald Scott H-back Bobby McFadden Josh Woods Orlando McCord Garrett Parker Scott MacLeod Dylan Brooks Nick Olds
 Dustin Daniels Demarius Reed Shawn Sinawe  Jordan Erbes Travis Wheeler Tyreese Russell Jairockeis Jones
Kevin Wheeler Matt Brown
Sean Walker Quarterback  Running Back
Alex Gillett Dominique Sherrer
Tyler Benz Javonti Greene
Mark Iannotti Dominique White

Two expected returners are currently missing from the defensive depth chart. Kalonji Kashama played every game and started four in 2011 on the defensive line, and Devon Davis came off the bench in 11 games. Kashama is still listed on the roster but is not on the spring depth chart, which suggests the possibility of an injury. Davis, on the other hand, is no longer listed on the roster.

Matt Price (6 games), Colin Weingrad (12 games, 5 starts), Kevin Johnson (12 games), and Sean “Pudge” Cotton (5 games) appear set to become regular starters. JUCO recruits Cy Maughmer and Travis Linser appear to be already at EMU and on the two-deep for the defensive line. Jacob Rich, Devin Henderson, Omar McFarlane, Jake Pennese, and Jerry Haymon have no game experience. Kason Dickerson saw limited game time in 2010. Steve Brown has played fairly regularly (11 games in 2011).

Right cornerback Defensive end Nose tackle Defensive tackle Left cornerback
Marcell Rose Matt Price Cy Maughmer Devin Henderson Rushbacker Marlon Pollard
Dominique Rouse Jacob Rich Jacob Rich Travis Linser Andy Mulumba Darius Scott
Omar McFarlane Ja’Ron Gillespie
Strong side linebacker Middle linebacker Weak side linebacker
Bryan Pali Colin Weingrad Justin Cudworth
Strong safety Blake Poole Steve Brown Jake Pennese
Pudge Cotton Free safety Kason Dickerson
Jerry Haymon Kevin Johnson
Alex Bellfy

There are no major changes on special teams.

Punter: Jay Karutz (Kody Fulkerson)
Place kicker: Kody Fulkerson (Mike Yocum)
Long snapper: Mike Zupancic (Matt Bowman)
Kickoffs: Mike Yocum (Kody Fulkerson)
Kick returner: Dominique Sherrer (Darius Scott)
Punt returner: Demarius Reed (Marlon Pollard)


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: