Skip to content

EMU women’s basketball head coach AnnMarie Gilbert resigns

April 5, 2012

AnnMarie Gilbert, in February 2012.

According to an EMU press release this morning, women’s basketball head coach AnnMarie Gilbert has announced her resignation, effective tomorrow (Friday, April 6). The university, of course, is giving no explanation, and there are no other reports about this yet, but I’m quite confident that this resignation is for one of two reasons.

The first possibility is that, after her success at EMU over the past several years, Gilbert is being hired away by another school. Ann Arbor could be a likely destination — Kevin Borseth announced yesterday that he’s leaving the Wolverines to coach Green Bay — but going from Borseth’s announcement yesterday, which the Detroit News characterized as
“unexpected”
, to an offer to Gilbert this morning would be an awfully fast decision by Michigan athletic director David Brandon. Michigan isn’t the only opening in women’s basketball, but I think it’s highly unlikely that we’ll see Gilbert coaching in Ann Arbor this fall.

The other possibility, which I think is far more likely, is that she has been pushed out at EMU as a result of the still-ongoing NCAA investigation. I heard some rumors this winter that there was more to come in this regard, and in particular, that the recruiting violations may have gone beyond those previously reported (organized workouts for prospects). When you consider that EMU’s announcement of Gilbert’s resignation concludes by mentioning that the “NCAA investigation into the women’s basketball program is still ongoing”, it’s obvious to guess that the resignation and the NCAA investigation are related. If I were to bet, I’d bet on that.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. BLN permalink
    April 5, 2012 11:34 am

    I agree that this is likely related to the investigation/violations. My guess is that she was found to have actively misled the NCAA. I find it hard to believe that new information came out now, though. I wonder if Gragg and the Board knew about this but decided to let Gilbert finish the season because the team was winning?

    • April 5, 2012 11:38 am

      Yes, in the original announcement about the investigation (September 2010) there was a suggestion that EMU coaches actively misled the NCAA and/or encouraged students to do so, but that it couldn’t be verified sufficiently to be an actionable violation.

  2. Kenneth Barna permalink
    April 5, 2012 2:28 pm

    Dear cmadler,
    If, the accusations on this, as well as other posts turn out to be true, meaning the resignation is due to violations on Gilbert’s part. This reminds me of years ago, when I did some pre-student teaching at Jackson Prison. The warden told me I could interview any of the inmates that I wished, that were in my classes.
    I did, and the one answer that astounded me, because every inmate I asked, gave the same response. The question: “Didn’t you think about getting caught, and the consequences it might bring?” The answer: “No.”
    I think some coaches fall into this same category, when it comes to following the rules. They never think they are going to get caught. Very sad.

Leave a Reply

